Skip to content

Changing Seasons

April 9, 2011

More photos at: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2210461&id=15202132&l=d2c6e07e7d

I have so much work to do here in the coming 4 weeks!  I don’t know how it will all get done!  However, its so easy to let go of worry and stress here!  For the last week, we’ve had a lot of rain and wind, and no electricity, which also means limited water, so I couldn’t do any work on the computer.  I started a book that many people have recommended to me, Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers.  I don’t really like to just sit around and read; I’d rather be out and about doing things.  But with the cold front, humidity, rain, and no electricity, it was the perfect recipe to curl up in bed with a book, and that’s just what I did.  Then I was enjoying it so much that I read until the wee hours of the morning using a head lamp.  And this morning, I woke up an hour late, but I really only follow my own schedule.  There’s no real set schedule, and no one watching what time I come in and out.  I have my project and everyone else has their work.  All the missionaries are here because they want to do this work.  If they need a day off, they take it.  If they want to work 12 hours a day, they do.  But none of them dread “going to work” at the clinic or the pre-school or whatever they do.  The same people with whom I work, are those with whom I also have dinner and play games , and go to church , and have Bible study , and eat breakfast , and go out to lunch on the weekends.  Its a lovely, big, international family!

I’m very tired of the winds, cold, and rain.  At the clinic yesterday, many women and their children arrived after hours of walking in it, soaked and chilled to the bone.  We offered blankets and clean, dry clothes.  It was nice to snuggle with the kids wrapped up in blankets.  They came all that way through the awful weather to get powdered milk and maybe some flour and beans.  They had no choice, no other way to get food.

As the season changes, its making me think about all the different harvests here.  Since I’ve been here, many fruits have come and gone.  When I came, the lichi season had just finished, and the magoes were plentiful.  I could see dozens of them on the ground under the tree, and it was refreshing to pick one up and eat it.  I had to be careful though, because the oil in the mango skin can give little burns around your mouth.  It was very funny to watch the horses eating mangoes!  They peel off the skin by lashing it around and letting the fruit fall, then they spit out the skin and devour the sticky sweetness.  After the mangos, the avocados came in.  We had so many avo’s, we didn’t know what to do with them.  We gave many away to the caretakers at the clinic, and had to throw many away.  By the time they were through, we were sick of them!  Then, the oranges came into season.  The oranges here have green skin, but they sure are oranges!  Overlapping them, we have tangarines, which are much nicer to eat than the oranges.  Their skin is also green.  The corn is almost ready for harvest, now.  Some have begun to harvest from their fields.  I don’t know what fruit will come next!  We always have sweet potatoes (NOT YAMS), and a white root with purple veins called madumbe (mah-doom-bey) that are REALLY good to fry up as chips or fries!

This coming week, we will begin phase 2 of the project: Dorca will begin teaching the course at a local church over the next month, while training a new Community Health Educator!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

