Skip to content

My Way of Life

February 5, 2014

A Whole New Way to Think About Stress” TED talk

***Watch the video at the link above, then read below.***

The Bible gave us this key to healthier living (physically and emotionally).

1 Corinthians 10:13 says, “No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.”

This gives me the belief about stress as something to be conquered and overcome, which gives me the courage to rise to the challenges of life.

Romans 8:37-39 says “No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,[a] neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

This gives me the belief that God is always with me and supporting me, which probably increases my oxytocin levels.

In Matthew 22:37-40, Jesus advises, “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

There are many strong reasons to help others that bolster following Jesus’ advice, and this is something I strive to do in my own life. This probably helps me to deal with life’s stressors, too.

Seems like God really knows how he made us and told us exactly how to manage stress and be healthy!

This video reminds me of another TED talk where the guy said that the happiest people aren’t the richest, but the ones that give more away. “How to Buy Happiness
And the Bible advises to give away a portion of your income (goods and/or money), to share resources with those in need, and help others.

My faith in God really has made my life better!!! No less stressors. Not easier. But happier and more meaningful.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

